The Ainger Peck Public Speaking Award

_DSC3477 (1).jpg


The Final of the Ainger Peck Public Speaking Award was held at the Amora Hotel Riverwalk in Richmond on Monday 24 May 2021.  At this dinner the audience of 90 people were treated to ten excellent presentations from a group of talented young speakers from years 9 to 12. The finalists were from  eight  schools with the winner being  Genevie Perruzza  a year 11 student from Star of the Sea College  who received $400, an inscribed Winner’s Medallion and her name on the perpetual Ainger  Peck Trophy .  Michael  Xiao  from  Huntingtower  was runner up receiving $300, and  Allegra Dennison  from  St Catherine’s School was third receiving $200.   Patrick Duncan   from St Kevin’s College won  the Rotary Club of  Richmond  Encouragement Award prize of $125. .


This is the 31st year  of the  competition  which was originally named  the Ainger  Public Speaking  Award and in 2019  was renamed the Ainger Peck  Public  Speaking Award in recognition of the outstanding contribution made by the late Rotarian Nigel Peck AM to the development and success of the Award .Since its inception over 1800 students have participated in this competition which concentrates on the effective delivery of the spoken word, with a lesser concentration on the argument presented or matter. It is open to students from invited  schools in the Melbourne metropolitan area and this year 60 students from 26 schools contested the four heats in the Library at Melbourne Girls’ College. The heats were of a high standard and gave the adjudication panel a difficult task to choose the ten finalists. All entrants however benefitted from the experience of speaking in front of an unfamiliar audience on a topic of their own choice and receiving constructive feedback and guidance from our experienced adjudicators. All students who entered receive a certificate acknowledging their participation in the Award.


To the schools that entered thank you for your participation and support of the Ainger Peck Public Speaking Award this year. We hope your students enjoyed and benefitted  from  the experience.  


We look forward to your participation in 2022 which will be the 32nd Ainger Peck  Public Speaking Award. If you require any further information please contact me on 94992280 or 0437232880 or email



Ben Hosking


Ainger Peck  Public Speaking Award

Rotary Club of Richmond


Let’s Work Together

If you would like to be involved in 2022 please contact the Chair, Ben Hosking on 0437232880 or email

Thanks for submitting!